If they did, they'd be untouchable (since the federal government could buy the data from brokers).
Having said that, once someone explains to them in words of one syllable that they've just banned the sale of all of the devices that make the Internet go for the entire electoral base, they'll TACO so fast it'll make your head spin.
Love seeing pop up like it’s new or something.
The act of attacking does not make defending a sin.
I have no doubt that American efforts at security on this front are inadaquate, incompetent, etc. But hypocritical? Nah.
There is an element of hypocrisy in all this because American intelligence agencies were previously caught intercepting Cisco-made routers on their way to customers
No there isn't! That's not hypocritical! Words mean things!
Like Russia talking about the importance of international law and sovereignty of Iran. Like Israel speaking how much against Holocaust/genocide they are.
Snd words do mean things and they don't discriminate. So all the "it's only bad when others do it, for us there is an exception" defence is invalid. It is indeed hypocritical.
Rochfoucauld didn't miss.
1) Foreigners are all trying to punch you
2) Your government is not
3) The FCC is acting in the citizens' best interest and this is actually the best way to increase security for router consumers.
Are 2 and 3 valid assumptions at the moment? In the extremely polarized US, that probably depends on your political affiliation. From the outside, I can't tell if this is a power grab, protectionism or just a decision I cannot get behind. Vulnerabilities and backdoors in US network equipment prove that "Made in USA" does not necessarily improve security. What the ban does improve is the administration's control over what's sold.
If people are calling this hypocrisy, then I suspect there's a larger moral argument that hasn't been articulated.
Calling it hypocrisy is at the very least good propaganda to try to wake Americans up from their stupor.
Admittedly though with Trump there’s no hypocritical propaganda any more. He just says he “wants the oil” or whatever.
Other nations being sad when you get punched in the nose is only useful if you have no effective way to respond.
Half the world disliked the US during the Cold War. People act like any of what is going on is new.
It's not just logical, it's affective: There is a real pleasure in domination, and a real fear in any loss of control. It feels good to be strong, to be in control, to be protected but not bound. Domination is hegemony, hegemony is safety.
These billionaires genuinely feel themselves to be oppressed if their power is threatened in any way. [1]
---
I listen to "Ice Ice Matrix" more often than I'd like to admit and every time I hear "Did you stop?" "No, I just drove by" I remember years ago solving these toy examples.
> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4COrX9YHcU
You're linking to a 36 minute video titled "Black Hat USA 2025 | China's 5+ Year Campaign to Penetrate Perimeter Network Defenses." There's nothing in the description about "USA company bought an Indian OS to turn into it's SOHO router/firewall product."
Either you linked the wrong thing or you need a better source.
I did not. The speaker clearly says in the video, twice, that they bought their OS from an Indian company. Anyways, here's the direct link to the quote:
https://youtu.be/z4COrX9YHcU?si=hzsYtprPeYkEC9DF&t=303
Perhaps your assumption should be that your efforts were inadequate rather than others.
You also could have opened the transcription panel and literally just searched for "india."
I think it's pretty clear your efforts were inadequate. Don't make others jump through hoops to find the information you're citing.
You should have initially posted that link with the timecode or provided a more complete summary.
Says the tech rag hailing from the 5-eyes nation known as the UK...